Alyssum Carpet of Snow
2011©Jennifer Martinez

We’re back online and trying to catch up on all the progress we’ve made in our Okinawa garden.  We haven’t given up on our gardening duties but I’ve been too busy to blog.  Although to mark our success and failures we took plenty of pictures. We will NOT make the same mistakes next planting season.

If I knew when & where we went wrong, we may have may have actually had a Carpet of Snow.

What I know:

1.We did follow instructions to keep the plant in half sun/half shade.

2.The Alyssum grew fast and started to become very full. Which makes sense because they are ground cover/spreading  plants.  The flowers that did bloom were tiny and looked like a much smaller version of the picture on the Burpee seed packet.

3. At one point I pulled a dying piece out during thinning and may have damaged root. (Not to mention I waited a month too long to thin.) However this was only in one of the 3 pots.

4. We had a series of over water / under water indecisiveness… thanks to internet searches.

5. The pretty, bright green petals that once were… quickly dried, curled,  and shriveled up until falling off completely.

6. Taking matters into my own hands I decided I’d add more soil mixed with Miracle Gro Blood Meal.  Now I had no clue what it needed to survive so I gave it a shot. This unopened bag of organic matter was just staring me in the face.

Conclusions or lack there of … we’ll call my best guess

Theory 1: Unknowingly sentencing the Alyssum to death by over crowding pots that were too small to begin with.

Theory 2: Planting a few months too late.  The Okinawa heat is NO JOKE! We are much closer to the equator than North America, where this flower is said to bloom very well with little effort.  So this leads me to believe that if we had given the Alyssum an earlier start closer to March/April instead of June/July they may have thrived.

Theory 3: Alyssum do not do well with organic matter Blood Meal.  (Note to self: research the effects of this product on this plant)

After countless attempts to bring back a struggling plant… I gave up.

Time to let nature take it’s course and see what happens.  While the plant is still green, it’s dried up and very unhappy.  No blooms, no foliage, no leaves, no petals; just a maze of little twiggy green stems.  Looking more like an ugly weed.

However I’ve noticed that there are beautiful weeds that fool me into watering them!  Weeds really do get a bad wrap. Although since I’ve quit maintaining the Alyssum pots, I’ve noticed that weeds are starting to grow freely.  (Notice the clovers and other strange growth in the last few pictures below) Really we could play the which plant does not belong game.

Either way the Alyssum adventure is over for us.  At least until next year.

PS. My little helper turned 4 and now could care less about our garden most days. She waters her feet and likes to cut the Zinnias and Cosmos. Which are coming up on the blogroll in the next few posts.

Related articles

So let’s take a look at the Alyssum from start to finish:

Justice laying seed tape
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Alyssum Carpet of Snow Emerges
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Carpet of Snow Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Carpet of Snow Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez - iPhone 3GS - Diptic App
Alyssum Carpet of Snow
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Alyssum Carpet of Snow
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Alyssum Carpet of Snow
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Alyssum Carpet of Snow
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Dried up Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Dried up Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Dried up Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez
Dried up Alyssum
2011©Jennifer Martinez
