The Queen Sophia “High Maintenance” Marigolds
20110706-113900.jpg

Now I can say I’ve chopped a queens head off:)
No, really I’m making bad jokes because I’m super sad about it. I read an article about needing to rid of a few before the roots tangle and strangle the whole bunch. My fault for over crowding the pots. Chalk it up to another lesson learned in our garden.

Snowdrift Marigolds

20110706-113946.jpg

This hurts even more because the snowdrifts are our first & largest growing to date. My heart, my eyes, & also my neighbor tell me not to thin any more of these beauties.

 

20110706-114135.jpg

We successfully pulled the middle root out without harming it & we’re able to replant in a tiny plastic pot. (that’s all we had left, just couldn’t live with sentencing this precious life to death.) there I go picking favorites…

20110706-114147.jpg

This little guy wilted as soon as he hit the air! Oops. I don’t know what I did wrong but I’m guessing I ruined his roots somehow.

20110707-101021.jpg

We tried to save the poor guy but it was a no go.

20110706-114223.jpg

The Alyssum Carpet of Snows

While they were looking healthy we measured & thinned to 4 sprouts. Which in all honesty is probably still too many for this medium sized pot.

20110706-114009.jpg

What can I say? I wish it would have really rained the week before I bought the seed packets. That way I would have taken my husband & neighbors “flood warnings” seriously. Blame falls on me alone. So excited to plant something living & now I must do the unthinkable & pull them out like worthless weeds. 

Teach me to re-plan a garden spur of the moment.  Possibly I was more concerned with planting early before the heat, than planting properly. Made the potting decision last minute because in ground would have been a bigger disaster.   In all honesty I planted 2 seeds in each hole we dug because I didn’t expect them all to grow!  Figured there would be a few duds.  I was so wrong.

 

Weak Links Sentenced to a Thinning

Don’t worry they had their last meals that morning. Hose water & sunshine.
20110706-114304.jpg

 

All Photos in this article were shot on an iPhone 3GS by a dirty, shaky hand.

2011©Jennifer Martinez

