dirty face after planting
2011©Jennifer Martinez

Keeping it PG people! The garden experience is a team effort between my 3 year old and myself. At times my daughter has quite a potty mouth hence the word donkey in the title.  (That way when we read over this post, she’ll think I’m talking Shrek talk.)  Guess I could have used the word badonka donk, but that term annoys me just as much as the country song does.

Alyssum Seed Packet
8-10 Days
iPhone3GS - 2011©Jennie Martinez
7-14 Days
iPhone3GS - 2011©Jennie Martinez
7-14 Days

Most of the seed packets say between 7-21 days to sprout.  3 DAYS and our seedlings are already emerging!  It must be this Okinawa weather. Perfect for planting. (even though it is scorching hot and humid on the island from morning to late afternoon and we’ve had not a single drop of rain since Typhoon Songda stormed us.)

This past Saturday we had our first seedlings sprout up! I ran to tell Justice and she was hopping up and down, and high pitch screaming “They’re growing, really”?!   It made our day, we were so excited to see the green popping through the soil.

 

2011©Jennifer Martinez

 

